Lettre Ulysses Award for the art of reportage

Jury 2003

The twelve members of the jury for 2003 are:

Svetlana Alexievitch, Belarus,

Hans Christoph Buch, Germany,

Jorge Edwards, Chile,

Philip Gourevitch, USA,

Nedim Gürsel, Turkey,

Isabel Hilton, Great Britain,

Natsuki Ikezawa, Japan,

Elias Khoury, Lebanon,

Pedro Rosa Mendes, Portugal,

Nirmal Verma, India,

Abdourahman Waberi, Djibouti/France,

Yang Xiaobin, China.

go to top of the page

"The magnitude of events, the need for information about other societies and other cultures is so great that never before has the need for journalists to do their job been greater. But at the same time, the pressures on journalists are perhaps greater than they’ve ever been. In every country, the press is very susceptible to the overall nature of opinion and the power of governments to shape agendas."Michael Massing (jury member 2004)