Lettre Ulysses Award for the art of reportage

Longlist | Authors 2003

(ordered alphabetically with specification of the original language/ first language of publication)

Kemal Anadol, Büyük Ayrili: The great separation, Turkish

Ian Buruma: Bad Elements, English

Christian Dedet: Au Royaume d'Abomey, French

Fan Wen: The Mist on The Ancient Path, Chinese

Nuruddin Farah: Yesterday, Tomorrow: Voices from the Somali Diaspora, English

Sergio González Rodriguez: Huesos en el desierto [Bones in the Desert], Spanish

Jiang Hao: Revealing the Secrets of Poachers, Chinese

Jean Hatzfeld: Dans le Nu de la Vie, French

Sae-Hwa Hong: The Seine Divides Left and Right, The Hang Gang Separates North and South, Korean

Christina Lamb: The Sewing Circles of Herat. A Personal Voyage Through Afghanistan, English

Adrian Nicole LeBlanc: Random Family: Love, Drugs, Trouble, and Coming of Age in the Bronx, English

John Pilger: The New Rulers of the World, English

Sergio Pitol: El Viaje, Spanish

Anna Politkovskaja: Tschetschenien. Die Wahrheit über den Krieg [Chechnya. The Truth about the War], Russian

Anna Politkovskaja: Tchétchénie: le déshonneur russe, French

Linda Polman: We Did Nothing: Why the Truth Doesn't Always Come Out When the UN Goes in, Dutch

Ruben Gonzalez Gallego: Beloié na tchiornem [White on Black], Russian

Ramesh Chandra Shah: Along the Dark Shores, Hindi

Mark Tully and Gillian Wright: India in Slow Motion, English

Bernd Wagner: Wie ich nach Chihuahua kam. Eine amerikanische Reise [How I got to Chihuahua. An American Journey], German

go to top of the page

"I consider myself to be a detective of otherness: other cultures, other ways of thinking, other patterns of behavior. I am a detective of an unknown, understood in a positive way, an unknown, with which I would like to come in contact, in order to understand it. It is all about the question of how I can describe reality in a new and adequate way. Sometimes this type of writing is called non-fictional writing. I would rather call it creative non-fictional writing."Ryszard Kapuscinski (ceremonial speaker 2003)